3 Steps to Graal Fashion Competing Success!


Hey! After just judging fashion shows for so long, today I finally got to participate in one of Aurore’s fashion shows. It’s not like I’m trying to brag or market myself, but I won a lot, because I knew very well what judges wanted already. So, this is a guide for anyone that wants tips and advice on how to win fashion shows in your Graal agency!

Background
Before Graal, I modeled virtually on a game called IMVU for 3 years. I learned in depth about fashion; from high fashion, how different folds create different illusions and tell different stories, managing colors, and discovering my own taste. I was a pretty top notch IMVU model on there, until my dad blocked it for the 4th time. When I got back, I realized I couldn’t come back, for many personal reasons. So I moved onto Graal, to try and expand the fashion crowd on there with Étoile. c:

Step 1 – Create a list of shields in your Notes app
It sounds like a pain, doesn’t it? It’s very important, however. I’ve noticed that a lot of people eventually just work with their bodies & head for themes. This isn’t a good idea. When in a contest, you want to customize your outfit in as many ways as possible, to stand out from the others. Shields that match you and your theme will improve your odds by a TON.

Take a look at this website. This website has all of Graal’s shields except personal ones. It’s easy to copy and paste shields from there, so open up your Notes app and do it! It doesn’t need to be long really, but more shields copied down = more options = better odds. I looked over almost every page on the shield category, mostly because I became obsessed =u=

Step 2 – Tell a story/personality with your outfit!
Often when I put out the theme ‘casual’, contestants just wear a bland colored outfit with an overused shield. If you’re going to look like everyone else, you can’t win. It doesn’t matter how much money you spend to look upper-class if you’re still going to look like everyone else. I want to see a story or some sort of attitude behind your outfit!

Let’s take the theme ‘casual’ again. Will you be a preppy athlete taking a break on Facebook, or a typical emo listening to some screamo? Picture them in your head. *Completely* different outfits right? That’s the same concept you have to apply to every theme. Be picky about what to look like, because you don’t want it to water down to the basic graalian look again. I’ll depict it in pictures:

Theme : Casual
Ex. 1
20111202-181527.jpg
I’m using the idea of the emo screamo fan. First of all, the balloon may look cute, but makes no sense whatsoever. We’re not doing a carnival theme, why would you need a balloon? Also, this body is good, but I think could be used better, such as in example 2.

Ex. 2
20111202-181646.jpg
See how subtle changes made the avatar a completely different person? Now she has more of a personality. I was going to go for listening to screamo, but I liked the iPad shield better than the overused iPod earplug shield. Also, notice the no sleeves or shoes effect by just making some colors skin-toned? Looks way more casual now, right?

Step 3 – Attitude
Nobody wants to reward the rotten. If you have a bad attitude socially, it is going to affect how judges will judge you. What’s the definition of bad attitude here?
– Snootiness (I’m-better-than-all-of-you attitude)
– Begging (excessive pestering for money, heads, bodies, or character slot)
– Complaining about people, themes, or unsuccessful begging

So what should you do?
– Congratulate winners
– Respect the judge’s opinion
– If it happens, accept defeat with an open mind. Perhaps ask the judge where you went wrong. Most judges will be more than happy to tell you.

About Latte

Hello♥ I'm Latte. I started pixel art and posting art in this blog around the same time in Oct/Nov 2011. The main reason why I started this blog was because I loved making heads/bodies, but couldn't possibly upload them all myself, so why let them collect dust on my computer? I enjoy seeing people upload or edit the works I make. It makes me feel happy to have contributed to their Graal experience, even in the smallest way. I'd also like to thank all of my supporters; I'm so grateful for where charmheart is today, and couldn't have done it without you. Thank you!

Posted on December 3, 2011, in Fashion, Graal, Guide. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow really cool website SiS BUT CANT FINE MY HEAD AND BODY 😦

  2. icecakegraal

    Where old gfx byipink 😦 so many spam by mij

Leave a comment